Your Food Service Equipment Partner

Serving

this is who we are

Female street vendor hands making sandwich outdoors. cuisine snacks, cooking fast food for commercial kitchen. The range of products for filling sandwiches. assortment
BSI-Porter-Adventist-Hospital-26 (1) (1)

About Great Lakes West

Food Service Equipment Specialists

Great Lakes West has been delivering foodservice solutions since 1999, serving hospitals, airports, restaurants & chains, entertainment venues, education facilities and others across the country.

“Your Vision Is Our Mission” reflects our approach to every project. Our experienced team will take you through every step, from concept, design, foodservice equipment procurement, project management with Great Lakes West own professional installers, smallwares, & furniture. From the front door to the back, we have you covered.

0

Design Projects

0

Years in Business

0

Kitchens Built

Customers say

Why Great Lakes?

Why Great Lakes West?

FireKeepers Casino & Hotel Testimonial

The FireHub – Client Story

Cindy Nathern

Managing Director IDG Foodservice Design, Ideation Design Group,
“I have had the good fortune of working with the wonderful staff at Great Lakes West for going on six years now. They have helped make the somewhat daunting task of coordinating fast-paced Airport Restaurant Concessions projects a much easier process. Their willingness to work with us to solve field issues and offer solutions to bring the projects to close on time and on budget is invaluable. I would highly recommend Great Lakes West for any size or type of Restaurant or Commissary Kitchen equipment supply & installation project.”

John Pandzic

Project Director, HMS Host
“Over the last 15 years the projects under my control have been run by Great Lakes West in the best possible relationship I could ask for. The response time by the GLW team has been the best I could ask for. The team running our projects has provided a great experience overall and I will continue to use them as long as I am with the HMS Host team.”

Kevin Stewart

Construction Manager, Ellis Don
“Great Lakes West ranks very high among my list of preferred subcontractors.  Through years of working with their team, they have proven themselves to be an elite Foodservice contractor capable of delivering projects of any size or complexity.”

Tammy Tedesco

CEO, Edibles Rex
“…simply AMAZING!”

Bobby Bernal

Southeast Regional Manager, LeadingAge Florida
“When I receive quote requests specifically related to kitchen/dining equipment, my first and usually ONLY go to is Great Lakes West.”

Michael Venters

MS, RD, Director, Food & Nutrition Services, Nashville General Hospital at Meharry
“Since I have joined the team at Nashville General, I have needed to rebuild the entire department from the ground up. We have either repaired or replaced nearly all the equipment in the kitchen through the help of Great Lakes West. The whole team at Great Lakes West is great and I know I can count on them for all my equipment needs and even more!”

What Drives Us?

Our Company Core Values

Green Circle
Golden Rule Icon

Golden Rule

Integrity, with respect, enthusiasm, and efficiency to each other, our vendors, and valued
customers.

School Bell Icon

School Bell

Complacency is a threat; knowledge is a tool. Continuing education and the thirst for
knowledge is in our DNA. Get better.

Own It Logo

Own It, Complete It

Listen, learn, and commit to the task or project at hand. No detail is too small or task too menial. Focus on results and finish strong.

Make It Real logo

Make It Real

Work hard, work smart, work together. Be humbly confident to deliver and exceed all team and customer expectations.

Our Services

What We Do

icons8-services-80

Culinary Design Services

The Great Lakes Culinary Design team works to bring your vision to life - collaborating with clients from the very first napkin sketch to schematics, elevations, and all construction documents.  Working with Revit and 3D Modeling ensures you get the most realistic design for your finished project.  We believe that custom is standard. Our team has real world experience from all facets of the industry.

Button
icons8-estimate-90

Budget Estimating

Our dedicated estimating team provides detailed estimates of cost for equipment, freight, consolidation, installation, & equipment start-ups and training demos.

Button
icons8-procurement-90

Equipment Procurement & Consolidation

Thanks to the Great Lakes network of warehouses across the country, including a large warehouse onsite in Mattawan, we easily consolidate equipment until the job site is ready to receive the items.

Button
icons8-service-90

Professional Installation

Great Lakes has vetted installation teams across the country.  We go beyond simply uncrating and setting in place.  You can expect services such as:

  • Installation of base options (legs, casters)
  • Hanging Wall Shelving
  • Hanging Exhaust Hoods
  • Erecting Walk-In Boxes
  • Placing & leveling all equipment
  • Installing refrigeration systems so they are ready for final connections
  • Clean-up and discarding all wrapping materials
  • Onsite modifications due to field conditions
Button
icons8-management-100

Total Project Management

Your dedicated Project Manager sees your job through to the last completed detail, coordinating with other trades and overcoming any unforeseen obstacles on the job site. Routine services include:

  • Jobsite coordination for equipment delivery
  • Field verification 
  • Documents for all layout floor plans, equipment schedules, mechanical & electrical rough-ins, elevations & fabrication details, HVAC submittal docs
Button
icons8-food-100

Equipment Start-Ups & Demonstrations

We work with authorized agents to start up and calibrate all newly installed
equipment for optimal function.  Equipment demos for owners and staff ensure your kitchen equipment will be utilized to its fullest. We stay on top of the newest technology in foodservice equipment, from ovens to beverage
systems and everything in-between.

Button
icons8-design-90

Interior Design & Furniture

Our interior design and furniture specialist can assist with selection, space planning & layout, and ordering any type of furniture your foodservice concept needs. In addition, we have custom fabrication and millwork partners to create just about any look you want.

Button
icons8-service-bell-90

Smallwares

From your front door to the back door, we have solutions for all smallwares, appliances, cookware, tabletop, & barware needs. Whether it’s a total opening package or a few cases of stemware, we will take care of you.

Button

Learn About

National Accounts

For close to 20 years, we have worked with fast casual restaurant chains across the country, major airports, casinos, and travel plazas. One of the keys to our success is the ability to work on a grand scale while never losing sight of the details.

Green Circle
Green Circle

Our Team

Connect with the
Great Lakes West Team

Slide
Project Management

John Moyer
Vice President of Operations
john@greatlakeswest.com

Nick Andrews
Senior Project Manager
nick@greatlakeswest.com

Kristi Vyerman
Project Manager
kristi@greatlakeswest.com

Steven Angelo
Project Manager
s.angelo@greatlakeswest.com

Matthew Murray
Project Manager
m.murray@greatlakeswest.com

Scott Conley
Project Manager
s.conley@greatlakeswest.com

Mikayla Hicks
Project Coordinator
m.hicks@greatlakeswest.com

Jodie Poenicke
Project Coordinator
j.poenicke@greatlakeswest.com

Lisa Heeter
Project Coordinator
l.heeter@greatlakeswest.com

Slide
Project Bid Estimating

Carrie Shephard
Lead Estimator
carrie@greatlakeswest.com

Cindi Kursner
Senior Estimator
cindi@greatlakeswest.com

Jen Geier
Estimator
j.geier@greatlakeswest.com

Sidney Wilcox
Bid Coordinator
s.wilcox@greatlakeswest.com

Slide
Sales

Shaun McGee
Account Executive
shaun@greatlakeswest.com

Nolan Ruffing
Account Executive
n.ruffing@greatlakeswest.com

Slide
Accounting

Julie McComis
Accounts Payable
julieb@greatlakeswest.com

Julie Thornton
Billing Coordinator
juliet@greatlakeswest.com

Kim McNatt
Accounting
kim@greatlakeswest.com

Veronica Verity
Office Manager/Accounting
V.verity@greatlakeswest.com

Slide
Leadership

Todd Heeter
President/Partner
todd@greatlakeswest.com

Marc Israel, Partner
marc@glhsco.com

Warren Casey
VP Sales & Marketing
wcasey@glhsco.com

John Moyer
Vice President of Operations
john@greatlakeswest.com

Tina Cieslak
Controller

tina@glhsco.com

Slide
Warehouse

Ricco Baerga
Warehouse Manager
e.baerga@greatlakeswest.com

Matt Plantenga
Warehouse Technician
m.plantenga@greatlakeswest.com

Slide
Design

Matt Barnes
Director of Design
matt@glcds.com

Ryan Day
Creative Design Lead
ryan@glcds.com

Andrew Arata
Technical Production Team Lead
andy@glcds.com

Al Andrews
Design Technician
alex@glcds.com

Slide
National Accounts

Mary Martin (Southfield)
Sales Specialist
mary@greatlakeswest.com

Louis Eakins
Project Manager
louis@glhsco.com

David Kevil
Account Executive/Beverage Specialist
d.kevil@greatlakeswest.com

Jon Shaw
Project Manager
jshaw@glhsco.com

Marci Yoki (Southfield)
Project Administrator
marci@greatlakeswest.com

Kati Shaw
Estimator
kshaw@glhsco.com

Chris Christian
Account Executive
chris@greatlakeswest.com

Jen Szymczak
National Food Equipment Sales Manager
jen@greatlakeswest.com

Slide
Marketing

Diane Sorenson
Marketing Director

diane@glhsco.com

previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow

Employee Spotlight

President

Todd Heeter
todd@greatlakeswest.com

National Food Equipment Sales Manager (Healthcare Division)

Jen Szymczak
jen@greatlakeswest.com

Account Executive - National Accounts

Andrew Harbin
andrew@greatlakeswest.com

Account Executive – National Accounts

Shaun McGee
shaun@greatlakeswest.com

Industry Associations

GALLERY

Industry Associations

What's Up

Recent News

Let’s spread some Local Love!

Generic-local-love-logo

Giving back to our local communities is something we take very to heart. As the seriousness and devastating impact of the 2020 COVID pandemic became apparent, leadership at Great Lakes decided to take action to help our suffering local restaurant and hospitality industry workers. What started as a grass roots effort to raise much needed funds for our local sole proprietors, service staff, and back of the house workers has resulted in the formation of Local Love (501c3). The initial purpose of Local Love was to identify individual members of our local foodservice communities that we can truly make an impact on as many are still struggling or who had major setbacks due to business closures, limited gathering, and in some cases pivoting their operations from indoor dining to delivery and take out.

To date Local Love efforts across 3 divisions – Detroit, Madison, WI, and Kalamazoo have raised well over $100,000 in funds for individual restaurant owners and workers to help them pay rent, operating expenses, or any other needed personal bills.

Local Love continues to evolve and has branched out to raising funds for victims of natural disasters such as the Kentucky Tornadoes in 2022. Other local Michigan businesses have joined to partner in the Great Lakes West Local Love charity, and we expect these efforts to assist needy members of our local communities will continue for many years!

Find out more about Great Lakes West current efforts and community needs here: www.locallovekzoo.com

Shopping Basket